Who’s Next For Paul Daley?

Paul Daley has looked great in the UFC.  He is 2-0 with 2 spectacular knockouts.  His KO of Hazelett was highlight reel style.  Now, who is next for the British welterweight.  The Team Rough House trained fighter is clearly in the top of the division.  He is not ready for GSP yet, but he is certainly ready for a contender type fight.  Here are the ideas of who he could get next…

  • Anthony Johnson – This would be a very exciting bout.  I’d love to see it, however, I think Daley has earned a top contender.  If Daley were to lose his next fight and Johnson win his next, I think this match would be ideal.  However, I think Daley is “in the mix” for a title shot with big wins over Martin Kampmann and Dustin Hazelett
  • Carlos Condit – This was the original fight scheduled for UFC 108.  I like this match-up.  Daley has hyped it well.  He has called out Condit numerous times and expressed his dislike for the former WEC champion.  However, I think Daley may have leap frogged Condit as well.  This match may still happen, but this is not the match I expect.
  • Josh Koscheck – If I was a betting man I would say this is the fight we will see.  Koscheck was bounced from UFC 109 with an injury and I am not sure of the extent of that injury or his timetable for return.  However, I can see this fight going down in the very near future.  In fact, I think this is the next fight for Daley.  This is what Dana White seemed to hint at during the post-fight press conference.  There is no doubt that Daley is a contender and the other contenders are fighting in March (Fitch & Alves), therefore this may be a mini-tournament to determine the number one contender.
This entry was posted in Anthony Johnson, Carlos Condit, Josh Koscheck, Paul Daley and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.