Bellator Adds Bryan Baker to Middleweight Tournament

Bellator announced that  WEC veteran Bryan Baker has been added to their middleweight tournament.

The 24-year old Baker is widely considered one of the top middleweight prospects and is MMA Planet’s 3rd ranked middleweight prospect.  Many people believed that the UFC was targeting Baker for a stint on the Ultimate Fighter, but it won’t happen. Baker’s only loss was a loss at the hands of Chael Sonnen at WEC 33 in March 2008.  When the WEC folded its middleweight division into the UFC they failed to pick up Baker’s contract.  Since his loss to Sonnen, Baker has reeled off five wins in a row including wins over Matt Horwich and Rory Singer.

Bellator CEo Bjor Rebney speaks about Bryan “The Beast” Baker:

The Beast is a dangerous addition to our middleweight tournament.  He caught my eye back at Bellator VIII and I knew then and there that he would make a big impact on our 185-pound challenger tournament.

Baker will join fellow WEC veteran Eric Schambari on the roster.  Interestingly, Baker has a win in his career over Schambari.  Baker will be an early favorite to get a crack at Hector Lombard’s title.  Here is what Baker had to say:

I’m a fighter pure and simple … I never really wanted to do anything else.  From my first meal until the time I go to sleep, it’s all about fighting, all about my career. I put so much effort into my training that it gives me 100 percent confidence that I’m going to win every time.  Lombard has the belt and I’m coming for his belt.  I’d say that he better stay on top of his training or else he’s in for a big surprise.

This entry was posted in Bellator FC, Bryan Baker and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.