Bellator Lands Middleweight Matt Major

Middleweight prospect Matt Major has signed with Bellator and will make his promotional debut during the second season of the show in the middleweight tournament.

Matt Major was rumored by many to be a cast member on the 11th season of the Ultimate Fighter, but now it is obvious he has gone the Bellator route instead.  Major’s personality will make him a polarizing figure as he is often times out spoken and controversial.  Major boasts a 6-1 career record with his sole loss coming in a decision loss to TUF 7 veteran Jesse Taylor in November 2007.

Bellator may be a good choice for Major who can make a run at Hector Lombard’s title.  In doing so he will have to compete against other tough middleweights such as WEC veterans Eric Schambari and Bryan “The Beast” Baker.

Bellator CEO Bjorn Rebney is excited about the new edition to the middleweight tournament.

Matt has a unique and bigger-than-life persona, but below the personality is a 185 pounder who can really fight.  If Matt focuses on our upcoming tournament, he’s a very dangerous draw for anyone at 185.

Here is what Major had to say about his signing with Bellator:

The real question is: ‘Is Hector Lombard ready for Matt Major?’ “I’ll tell you right now, if Hector Lombard knows I’m in the tournament, I know he’s worried about it. I want to be a world champion more than anything and I don’t care who I have to fight or what I have to do to get there.  All I ever wanted to do was be the next Jean Claude Van Damme, the next Steven Segal, the next Bruce Lee and now I’m better than all of them. I knew since I was a little kid that I was going to be a great fighter. I’ve trained in every kind of combat you can imagine: I’ve done English boxing, American boxing, Aikido, judo, sword, wrestling, Jiu-Jitsu, you name it. If the fight ends up on the ground, someone’s gonna get tapped. If it stays standing up, someone’s gonna get hit in the mouth. It doesn’t matter to me. Bellator, I think, is the new face of MMA. It’s just a very sophisticated organization and I’m proud to be a part of it.

The tournament format gives fighters a chance to control their own destiny and a good run in a tournament will greatly increase a fighter’s stock.

This entry was posted in Bellator FC, Matt Major and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.