Mark Coleman Released By UFC

UFC Hall of Famer Mark Coleman has been released from his UFC contract following his loss to Randy Couture at UFC 109.  FiveOuncesofPain confirmed with several source Coleman has been released from his contract. 

Coleman mad his return to the UFC in 2009 with a loss to Mauricio “Shogun” Rua, but he bounced back with a big win over Stephan Bonnar at UFC 100.  The 45-year old former champion still does not plan on retiring.

I’m definitely going to keep fighting. I’m still trying to figure out what’s going on. I want to fight in the UFC. I want to beat Tito Ortiz — bad — but really I just want to fight in the UFC. I’m healthy. I’m really just very disappointed and I feel like I can do better. I have a lot I need to work on. I just need to train harder,I need to work harder.

While we may have expected Coleman to be cut, there is a part of us that has to be shocked that a loss to one who Dana White viewed as “top 5 in the world” ended his UFC run.  Plus, Coleman is a hall of famer and maybe should have been given one more chance.  On the hand, he looked really bad against Couture and maybe it is the best thing for Coleman.  We have to wodner if the split was amicable. While there are other interesting fights for Coleman inside the UFC, it looks as thought he will have to find somehwere else to fight.  I guess we will not see a grudge match between him and Tito Ortiz inside the UFC. 

 It has to be hard for a fighter to hang it up.  It has to be hard for anyone.  Coleman is a fighter.  Fighting is what he does and all he knows.  The competitive spirit inside of him is telling him to keep going.  Coleman should not feel too dejected.  His career spanned a much greater time period than most.  He fought well into his 40’s.  He is a legend in the sport…a pioneer of MMA.Coleman had a great career and is known as the”Godfather of Ground and Pound”. 

No telling what will become of Mark Coleman.  Perhaps a few fights in Japan.  Perhaps the DREAM light heavyweight tournament.  Perhaps a few legends bouts overseas.  Whatever the case may be hopefully, the UFC ended things in the right way.  I cannot blame them totally.  While they may feel a sense of obligation to one of the company’s pioneers, they also have to be concerned with Coleman’s safety, which is probably what led to the decision to cut Coleman.

MMA Planet would like to wich Mark Coleman the best and we pray for the best for “The Hammer”.

This entry was posted in Mark Coleman and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.