Strikeforce: Fedor vs. Silva Predictions

Fedor Emelinenko vs. Antonio Silva
A lot of the luster was lost when Fedor lost to Fabricio Werdum, however, Fedor is still one of the best in the world. The question in many people’s minds is whether his loss is indicative of a decline in skills or if he just “got caught.” Antonio Silva is a compelling fight. Silva is tough and can take a punch as he showed against Mike Kyle. However, I believe Mike Kyle exposed Silva. I don’t believe Fedor will let Silva off the hook the way Kyle did. I do not see many ways Silva can beat Fedor. I find it a very favorable fight for the Russian. I pick Fedor by first round TKO.
Andrei Arlovski vs. Sergei Kharitonov
Arlovski is training hard. He has looked horrible lately. He has a very suspect chin. I do not know if that suspect chin will hold up against the striking prwess and power of Kharitonov. I expect Arlovski to look good for a few minutes. However, I expect Kharitonov to knock Arlovski out cold in round one.
Shane Del Rosario vs. Lavar Johnson
This is a heavyweight grand prix reserve fight. Johnson is a great story. He has come back from a gunshot injury to look very impressive. However, I believe he is encountering one of the best heavyweight prospects around. Del Rosario has good striking and really good jiu jitsu. I am expecting Del Rosario to submit Johnson in round 2.
Chad Griggs vs. Gian Villante
Chad Griggs was able to upset Bobby Lashley in his last outing, but I do not know how impressive that really is. Villante is a great prospect, but he is probably better suited for the light heavyweight division. I do believe size could be an issue here. However, I am predicting Villante to win a decision.
Valentijin Overeem vs. Ray Sefo
Another one of the tournament reserve bouts has an interesting style match up between K-1 level striker Ray Sefo and Golden Glory’s Valentijin Overeem. Valentijin has not shown the ability to hang with the best. I don’t think Ray Sefo is an elite mixed martial artists, but I think he does enough to put Overeem away in round 3.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.