What Should Happen to Nick Diaz?

The Nevada State Athletic Commission stated that Nick Diaz has indeed tested positive for marijuana following his UFC 143 loss to Carlos Condit. Diaz will most likely face up to a year’s suspension. However, many fans have rallied to Diaz’s side. Some have stated that marijuana is not a big deal and should not even be tested. I disagree.

I do not know if marijuana is a ‘performance enhancing” drug, but I do think it has the potential to give an unfair advantage. I think it is possible that marijuana usage could dull pain receptors. I wouldn’t suggest that it gives an opponent a great advantage, however I do stand behind the state of Nevada’s decision is discipline Diaz. Like it or not Marijuana is an illegal substance. Also, Diaz knew full well that he would be tested. He also knew that Marijuana was going to be tested for and that it was not a legal substance. This is not the first time Diaz has tested positive for marijuana. He failed a test following his PRIDE win over Takanori Gomi.

I know a lot of people will cite that Diaz has a prescription for medical marijuana. That may excuse his use in some people’s minds, but i does not excuse failing a test. Diaz could have used more caution. He could have refrained from use leading up to the fight. He could’ve flushed his system better. I don’t know the reason for Diaz’s prescription for weed, but NSAC does not recognize it and Diaz knew it. No excuses in my opinion, especially at this level.

Diaz, a multiple time offender should be suspended. No, I don’t think UFC should cut him, but he broke the rules. Rules are in place for a reason and they should be adhered to. I say let Diaz serve his suspension and then come back. That is if he wants to. Diaz said he was done with MMA after he lost to Condit. Perhaps he will retire. Perhaps he will come back. Regardless, he is probably on the shelf for a year or more.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.